"Story of Your Life" (Re: Arrival)

Last December I posted a review of Arrival, the sci-fi movie with a linguist as the main character. TLDR? Its reach exceeding its grasp, and I was disappointed. I’m in the minority with this opinion—most people who saw it said it was solid sci-fi and much better than they expected—but I stand by it.

Like Cloud Atlas, I was intrigued enough to go read the original short story. Also like Cloud Atlas, everyone else in San Francisco had the same idea, so it was months before I actually got my hands on Ted Chiang’s Stories of Your Life and Others, the published anthology containing “Story of Your Life”.

Movie Review: Kimi no Na wa

Makoto Shinkai’s 君の名は。 (“Your Name.”) is a funny, sweet, and pretty movie. Nearly every friend who had seen it recommended it, and it’s apparently the highest-grossing anime movie ever (surpassing Spirited Away). And it’s showing in US theaters for a week. Of course I was going to go see it.

Fully no-spoiler verdict? It’s pretty good, but either you’ll like the characters and the style or you won’t. I don’t exactly know who I’d recommend it to—it’s not a deep, life-changing movie, but at the same time I did find myself rooting for the characters by the end, and I know some of my friends found it very moving.

Movie Review: Hidden Figures

Hidden Figures is a lot like some of the other mathematician / scientist stories we’ve seen in the past few years, like The Imitation Game or the NASA parts of The Martian: it follows the story of a mathematician, an engineer, and a technical supervisor at NASA. We get to see their personal and professional lives as the US tries to catch up to Russia in the Space Race of the 1960s, all three of them ultimately playing pivotal roles.

Of course, Johnson, Jackson, and Vaughn are also all black women, and so we get to see how again and again they are passed over for promotion, condescended to, dismissed—and that they succeed despite this. Representation matters, and doubly so when it’s a true story.

Older Posts

  1. 2016-12-27 Movie Review: Arrival
  2. 2016-10-22 Book Review: The Gods Themselves
  3. 2016-03-12 Movie Review: The Witness
  4. 2015-12-21 Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Pt 2
  5. 2015-11-27 Movie Review: The Good Dinosaur
  6. 2015-10-11 Movie Review: The Martian
  7. 2015-07-23 Movie Review: Pulp Fiction
  8. 2015-06-27 Movie Review: Mad Max: Fury Road
  9. 2015-02-03 Movie Review: Selma
  10. 2015-01-01 Movie Review: Pitch Perfect
  11. 2014-12-31 Movie Review: The Imitation Game
  12. 2014-12-24 Movie Review: Big Hero 6
  13. 2014-12-21 Movie Review: Interstellar
  14. 2014-12-15 Game Review: Transistor
  15. 2014-12-14 Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Pt 1
  16. 2014-08-23 Movie Review: Guardians of the Galaxy
  17. 2014-06-22 Movie Review: Edge of Tomorrow
  18. 2013-12-28 Movie Review: Gravity
  19. 2013-12-24 Movie Review: Frozen
  20. 2013-11-27 Review: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
  21. 2013-11-23 Movie Review: I Am a Ghost
  22. 2013-11-22 Movie Review: Lawrence of Arabia
  23. 2013-11-21 Star Wars: Machete Order
  24. 2013-02-26 Re: Cloud Atlas
  25. 2013-01-06 Movie Review: Vantage Point
  26. 2013-01-04 Review: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
  27. 2012-12-11 Movie Review: Wreck-It Ralph
  28. 2012-11-11 Movie Review: Cloud Atlas
  29. 2012-10-31 Movie Review: Looper
  30. 2012-07-09 Movie Review: Unknown
  31. 2012-04-30 Movie Review: The Last Samurai
  32. 2012-03-24 Movie Review: Alien
  33. 2012-03-21 Movie Review: Kill Bill, Vol. 1
  34. 2011-09-07 Movie Review: No Country for Old Men
  35. 2011-09-06 Movie Review: Blade Runner
  36. 2011-09-04 Movie Review: The Last of the Mohicans
  37. 2011-08-10 Movie Review: Grave of the Fireflies
  38. 2011-07-24 Movie Review: My Neighbor Totoro
  39. 2011-07-03 Movie Review: Super 8
  40. 2011-06-15 Movie Review: X-Men: First Class
  41. 2011-05-18 Movie Review: Source Code
  42. 2010-12-26 Movie Review: Gattaca
  43. 2010-12-20 Movie Review: The Social Network
  44. 2010-12-20 A Review of Machinarium
  45. 2010-08-27 Movie Review: Scott Pilgrim vs. The World
  46. 2010-08-23 Beauty and the Beast
  47. 2010-03-21 Movie Review: Memento
  48. 2010-01-04 Movie Review: Avatar
  49. 2010-01-01 Movie Review: Sherlock Holmes
  50. 2009-09-13 Movie Review: District 9
  51. 2009-02-08 Movie Review: I, Robot
  52. 2008-01-26 Movie Review: Across the Universe
  53. 2007-12-02 Movie Review: August Rush
  54. 2007-08-10 Hairspray: The Review

Possibly Related Tags