Movie Review: Kimi no Na wa

Makoto Shinkai’s 君の名は。 (“Your Name.”) is a funny, sweet, and pretty movie. Nearly every friend who had seen it recommended it, and it’s apparently the highest-grossing anime movie ever (surpassing Spirited Away). And it’s showing in US theaters for a week. Of course I was going to go see it.

Fully no-spoiler verdict? It’s pretty good, but either you’ll like the characters and the style or you won’t. I don’t exactly know who I’d recommend it to—it’s not a deep, life-changing movie, but at the same time I did find myself rooting for the characters by the end, and I know some of my friends found it very moving.

Movie Review: Hidden Figures

Hidden Figures is a lot like some of the other mathematician / scientist stories we’ve seen in the past few years, like The Imitation Game or the NASA parts of The Martian: it follows the story of a mathematician, an engineer, and a technical supervisor at NASA. We get to see their personal and professional lives as the US tries to catch up to Russia in the Space Race of the 1960s, all three of them ultimately playing pivotal roles.

Of course, Johnson, Jackson, and Vaughn are also all black women, and so we get to see how again and again they are passed over for promotion, condescended to, dismissed—and that they succeed despite this. Representation matters, and doubly so when it’s a true story.

Movie Review: Arrival

I wanted to like Arrival. I really did. I knew the actual linguistics aspect of it was going to be minimal, but even so I want more of these movies, the science fiction that isn’t just “war in space” given proper treatment on the big screen.

But as you can infer from that first paragraph, I just didn’t find it very good.

Older Posts

  1. 2016-03-12 Movie Review: The Witness
  2. 2015-12-21 Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Pt 2
  3. 2015-11-27 Movie Review: The Good Dinosaur
  4. 2015-10-12 Problems with The Martian
  5. 2015-10-11 Movie Review: The Martian
  6. 2015-07-23 Movie Review: Pulp Fiction
  7. 2015-06-27 Movie Review: Mad Max: Fury Road
  8. 2015-02-03 Movie Review: Selma
  9. 2015-01-01 Movie Review: Pitch Perfect
  10. 2014-12-31 Movie Review: The Imitation Game
  11. 2014-12-24 Movie Review: Big Hero 6
  12. 2014-12-21 Movie Review: Interstellar
  13. 2014-12-14 Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Pt 1
  14. 2014-08-23 Movie Review: Guardians of the Galaxy
  15. 2014-06-22 Movie Review: Edge of Tomorrow
  16. 2013-12-28 Movie Review: Gravity
  17. 2013-12-24 Movie Review: Frozen
  18. 2013-11-27 Review: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
  19. 2013-11-23 Movie Review: I Am a Ghost
  20. 2013-11-22 Movie Review: Lawrence of Arabia
  21. 2013-11-21 Star Wars: Machete Order
  22. 2013-01-06 Movie Review: Vantage Point
  23. 2013-01-04 Review: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
  24. 2012-12-11 Movie Review: Wreck-It Ralph
  25. 2012-11-11 Movie Review: Cloud Atlas
  26. 2012-10-31 Movie Review: Looper
  27. 2012-07-09 Movie Review: Unknown
  28. 2012-04-30 Movie Review: The Last Samurai
  29. 2012-03-24 Movie Review: Alien
  30. 2012-03-21 Movie Review: Kill Bill, Vol. 1
  31. 2011-09-07 Movie Review: No Country for Old Men
  32. 2011-09-06 Movie Review: Blade Runner
  33. 2011-09-04 Movie Review: The Last of the Mohicans
  34. 2011-08-10 Movie Review: Grave of the Fireflies
  35. 2011-07-24 Movie Review: My Neighbor Totoro
  36. 2011-07-03 Movie Review: Super 8
  37. 2011-06-15 Movie Review: X-Men: First Class
  38. 2011-05-18 Movie Review: Source Code
  39. 2010-12-26 Movie Review: Gattaca
  40. 2010-12-20 Movie Review: The Social Network
  41. 2010-08-27 Movie Review: Scott Pilgrim vs. The World
  42. 2010-03-21 Movie Review: Memento
  43. 2010-01-04 Movie Review: Avatar
  44. 2010-01-01 Movie Review: Sherlock Holmes
  45. 2009-09-13 Movie Review: District 9
  46. 2009-02-08 Movie Review: I, Robot
  47. 2008-01-26 Movie Review: Across the Universe
  48. 2007-12-02 Movie Review: August Rush
  49. 2007-08-10 Hairspray: The Review

Possibly Related Tags